
I've been talking a lot about this lately as Gary and my team, The Bakers, have been holding steady in first place for most of the season. The final tournament for our league takes place all day Saturday at Wissahickon Skating Club. It promises to be an amazing time... 100 guys and all of their friends drunkenly cheering/heckling players on the ice as they play for the championship. There will be 4 kegs of beer and a ton of food. $12 gets you a bottomless cup of beer and neverending piles of burgers and sausage (and maybe a t-shirt if there are some left). Also, if you'd rather, you could just bring your own beer and food, but please don't bring glass bottles (cans only).
As far as timing, I'd suggest showing up at around 2pm, that's probably the peak of the hanging out/drinking action. The championship game happens at 4:15pm. I'm going to be conservative and say that my team has a 50% chance of being in that game. Also, in true Bakers' form, I will be making brownies for my teammates, which we will consume during the 3rd period of the final game. So if all goes well, it will definitely be interesting to watch. And who knows, maybe there will be a few brownies left over for the fans.
So come on out. It's really easy to get to by Regional Rail (R8 to St. Martins) or by bike (ride to Valley Green, cross the bridge on your right and go up the hill about 1/2 mile).









